Monday, December 17, 2007


Various Artists / Nothing Works As Planned / Interval Recordings 02

Release Date: 17.12.2007
Genre: Experimental / Electro-Acoustic
Double CD
Time: CD1 40:30 / CD2 41:17

Track List
1 – Intro (1)
2 – Ido Govrin / Limbo Sketches; live laptop and video (1)
3 – Amnon Wolman / Increased Fines; live laptop (1)
4 – Jonathan Chen / Three Switch-Hitters; live electronics and video (2)
5 – Neil Leonard / Echoes and Footsteps; saxophone, electronics and video (1)

1 – Kiki Keren-Huss / summer 2006, War; contrabassoon, violin and electronics (1)
2 – Beth Denisch / Fire Mountain Intermezzo; string orchestra (3)
3 – Arie Shapira / Violin 2004; violin and electronics (1)
4 – Keren Rosenbaum / Waltz; violin and electronics (1)
5 – Yossi Mar-Chaim / Nothing Works as Planned; violin, Contrabassoon and electronics (1)

(1) Recorded live at the Tel-Aviv Museum of Art, October 3rd 2006, Tel-Aviv Israel
(2) Recorded live at Issue Project Room, December 5th 2006, New York USA
(3) Recorded live at Moscow, Russia (February 2006) by the Chamber Orchestra Kremlin, Misha Rachlevsky, Music Director


This double CD presents diverse approaches to the phrase ‘nothing works as planned’ by nine composers and sound artists. Each and every one of them captures a singular moment which was compiled together to create an esthetic sonic statement of reason and beauty.

‘Nothing works as planned’ is comprised of live recordings of concerts in Tel Aviv and New York.
The double CD is a documentation of a series, entitled “Nothing Works as planned”, which held at the above mentioned cities and was premiered at the Tel Aviv Biennale of New Music hosted by the Tel Aviv Museum of Art.

The premier took place in a large suite of galleries that was between exhibitions and therefore void of art work. The high ceilings, long reverberation and departure from conventional concert seating made for a cathedral-like setting and proved to be an ideal site for the concert of works featuring electronics, small ensembles and large video projections.

The series continued with a concert at the Issue Project Room in Brooklyn, New York. IPR is located in a circular tower that was once a silo situated on the Gowanus Canal. Again, the unconventional setting and the unique acoustical space made an ideal venue for the performance of experimental music.

‘Nothing works as planned’, as with every release by Interval Recordings, contains a photo/visual image by the Swedish artist, Stefan Otto, and an “interval” graphic design rework and over all cover design by the Norwegian artist Erik Skodvin.
interval recordings / Info

1 comment:

Omar Cruz said...

I like this blog is fantastic, is really good written. Congratulation. Do you want to see something more? Read it...: Great investment opportunity in Costa Rica: real estate for sale by owner, rci jaco lodging, rci jaco lodging. Visit us for more info at: